skip navigation
AZ.gov Arizona's Official Website Agency Name Goes Here, Agencies may also load an image of thier logo
Agency Name AZ.gov Arizona's Official Web Site
Our Mission - To efficiently and effectively collect, safeguard, and distribute Unclaimed Property to the rightful owners.

Search for
Unclaimed Property

First Name (Optional)
Last Name (Required)
Missing Money

Missingmoney.com is a web site authorized by the Arizona Department of Revenue and other states to list owners of Unclaimed Property. There is no cost to search for your property or to file a claim. If your name or the name of your business is listed, follow the instructions for filing a claim form on the missingmoney.com web site.

Missing Money

 


Arizona Unclaimed Property Notice

ARIZONA UNCLAIMED PROPERTY NOTICE
UPN 09-1
S.B. 1003, 49th Leg., 4th Spec. Sess. [2009 Ariz. Sess. Laws 3E]

 

December 15, 2009

 

On, November 23, 2009, Governor Janice K. Brewer signed Senate Bill 1003 into law. The bill, effective immediately, amended several of the abandonment periods (also known as “dormancy periods”) enumerated in the Arizona Unclaimed Property Act, Arizona Revised Statutes (A.R.S.) § 44-302.

 

What abandonment periods have changed?

Property Type
Former abandonment period
Amended abandonment period
Traveler’s check
15 years
3 years
Money order or similar written instrument
7 years
3 years
Any stock or other equity interest in a business association or financial organization
3 years
2 years
The principal on debt of a business association or financial organization
3 years
2 years
A demand, savings or time deposit and any interest or dividends
5 years
3 years
Credits owed to a customer as a result of a retail business transaction
5 years
3 years
An amount owed by an insurance company on a life or endowment insurance policy or annuity that has matured or terminated
5 years
3 years
Policy or annuity that is payable on proof of death
2 years
1 year
Proceeds of a life or endowment insurance policy or annuity contract not matured by actual proof of the death of the insured or annuitant according to the company’s records
2 years
1 year
Property that is held by a court, government or governmental subdivision, agency or instrumentality
3 years
2 years
Property in any individual retirement account, defined benefit plan or other account or plan that qualifies for tax deferral under the income tax laws of the United States
3 years
2 years
Any amount that is payable on a check, draft or similar instrument on which a financial organization or business association is directly liable, including a cashier’s check and a certified check
5 years
3 years
All other property
5 years
3 years
Excess proceeds deposited with the county treasurer pursuant to A.R.S. § 33-812
3 years
2 years
Any dividend, profit, distribution, interest, redemption, payment on principal or other sum held or owing by a business association for or to its shareholder, certificate holder, member, bond holder or other security holder
3 years
2 years

 

 

Do I need to file an additional report?

All holders required to file an unclaimed property report to the Department must file a one-time report that includes all property reportable as of June 30, 2009, as calculated using the amended abandonment periods.  This report should be marked “2009 SUPPLEMENTAL REPORT.” 

 

Has the November 1st reporting date changed?

The November 1st reporting date prescribed in A.R.S. § 44-307 has not changed and will include property presumed abandoned as of June 30, 2010.  Therefore, holders must report on or before June 1, 2010 and separately report on or before November 1, 2010. 

When must I perform my due diligence?

For the June 1, 2010 report ONLY, holders must perform due diligence in accordance with A.R.S. § 44-307 prior to 90 days before the report is filed. 

Will the Department grant an extension?

For the June 1, 2010 report ONLY, the Department may not grant an extension as otherwise authorized in A.R.S. § 44-307(F).

Are life insurance companies required to file an additional report?
Life insurance companies should report on May 1, 2010.  An additional report is not required.  However, if additional time is needed to include property under the amended abandonment periods, such companies may file their report on or before June 1, 2010.